Ondo State Youth Network (OSYN), the leading intellectual youth group in Ondo state, has elected Adegboyega Afe as its new coordinator.

Afe, an officer with the Federal Fire Service, defeated his only opponent, Ife Omoniyi, by 26 votes.

In a keenly contested election with weeks of rigorous campaigns, Afe polled 114 votes while Omoniyi polled 88.

The electoral committee chairman, Prince Joshua Oyekan, who returned Afe as the winner of the contest, said the process was transparent, free, fair and credible.

In his acceptance speech, the coordinator-elect said: “I appreciate the commitment and readiness of my brother, Ife Omoniyi, whose entrance into the race gave me and my team a worthy challenge. I see this as a victory for not just both of us as competitors in this race, but a victory for the Network, as this has raised the bar of intellectual engagements during campaigns in OSYN. I implore him to join me in building the Network of our dreams, which we can all be proud of.

“We find ourselves at a juncture replete with both challenges that demand our immediate attention, and opportunities that beckon us toward greatness. Our strength as a formidable Network lies in our capacity to collaborate harmoniously, irrespective of the political, cultural, or ideological tapestry that colours our perspectives. The era of division must yield to an era of collaboration, understanding, and joint endeavours.

“At this critical juncture of our history, our foremost objective shall be the cultivation of a prosperous network that extends its benevolent embrace to every stratum of society. We shall labour tirelessly to stimulate personal development, eliminate the insidious tendrils of coldness, and weave a tapestry of sustainability that safeguards the interests of not only the present generation but also the next generation of leaders.

“As we embark upon this collective odyssey towards a brighter tomorrow, let us remember that history is made not by the actions of a few but by the united efforts of many. With your trust as our guiding star, let us etch a legacy of unity, progress, and triumph by joining hands to #RaiseTheBar of our engagement as a community of intellectuals.”

Also elected as members of the new executive council are Adesuyi Mayowa as deputy coordinator, Ondo Central Senatorial District; Oluwasegun Daodu, Deputy Coordinator, Ondo North Senatorial District; and Segun Olowoparija as Deputy Coordinator, Ondo South Senatorial District.

Others are Babatunde Kuye, General Secretary; Christopher Olusa, Public Relations Officer; Leah Akinfiresoye, Director of Special Duties and Samson Popoola as Financial Secretary.

The newly elected executives will take over from the Otunba Thompson Adedamola Adesida-led executives at a yet to be announced date.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *